Micky Hammond Racing > Racing News > General News > 2015/16 Jumps season: Facts and figures

2015/16 Jumps season: Facts and figures

25th April 2016

Starting with Danceintothelight‘s popular win at Sedgefield on 30th April 2015 and ending with a well deserved success for the much improved Auldthunder at the same track last Wednesday, we sent out a total of 43 winners during the 2015/16 season, our best total since 1997/98 and our fifth highest total ever.

The 43 wins were made up of one in a bumper, 18 over hurdles and 24 over fences, from a total of 347 runners at an overall strike rate of 12%.
Our win and place prize money total of £313,990 was our highest ever, beating our previous best of £279,175 in 1997/98 and putting us in 33rd position in the Jumps trainers’ championship with only four other northern based trainers ahead of us.

Our total of 43 wins was the 22nd highest in the country.

Sedgefield was our luckiest track, with 13 of our winners, including two trebles, coming at the Durham venue. Eight of those wins were over fences at a strike rate of 36%. Next best were Hexham and Wetherby with five wins each, followed by Cartmel (four) and Carlisle, Catterick and Kelso with three each.

Richard Ball’s six year old ex French gelding Roxyfet (above) was our most prolific horse, with five wins from his eighteen runs during the season. The Rat Pack Racing Club’s Auldthunder, Give Every Man His Due’s Caraline and Verko, owned by David Green, all won four times.

Our senior conditional jockey Joe Colliver rode 26 winners during 2015/16, his highest ever total, a fantastic effort considering he missed four months with an arm injury. Joe had his first ever double aboard Alderbrook Lad and Tullamore Dew at Cartmel in May and he finished the season on a total of 69 career winners, needing just six more to ride out his claim.

Finian O’Toole (below) rode the first winner of his career aboard Alderbrook Lad at Cartmel in June and went on to partner seventeen winners, eleven of which were over fences, during a brilliant breakthrough season which included a Sedgefield treble in February on Oscar O’Scar, Verko and Roxyfet.

Our amateur jockey Joe Wright, who has been in great form in point to points, rode his first winner under Rules aboard Minella Hero at Hexham in June.

Joe Colliver was our most successful jockey during the season with nineteen winners, followed by Finian O’Toole on fifteen. Jamie Bargary and champion conditional Craig Nichol both rode three winners for us, with Joe Wright, Sam Twiston-Davies and our head girl Becky Smith partnering one winner apiece.

Joe’s 26 winners, at a strike rate of 16%, saw him finish joint fourth in the conditional jockeys’ championship, with only Craig Nichol (36), Harry Cobden (29) and Sean Bowen (27) riding more. Joe also finished in joint 36th position in the 2015/16 Stobart Jump Jockeys’ Championship.

These fantastic results are a credit to every single one of our hard working, committed team, we’d like to thank all our owners for their continued and extremely valued support and we’ll be trying as hard as we can to do even better in 2016/17!

It's only fair to share...
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Call Back Request